DPDK announcements
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
To: announce@dpdk.org
Subject: [dpdk-announce] DPDK 19.08 released
Date: Sun, 11 Aug 2019 16:44:40 +0200
Message-ID: <142332379.uZOAQRqkJE@xps> (raw)

A new major release is available:
	https://fast.dpdk.org/rel/dpdk-19.08.tar.xz

The statistics - probably the biggest release of the year:
	1327 commits from 171 authors
	1631 files changed, 138797 insertions(+), 97285 deletions(-)

Below are some new features, grouped by category.
General:
	- IOVA mode defaults to VA if IOMMU is available
	- MCS lock
	- better pseudo-random number generator
	- Intel QuickData Technology (ioat) PMD
	- non-transparent bridge (ntb) PMD
Networking:
	- actions for TCP and GRE in flow API
	- Broadcom Thor support in bnxt PMD
	- Huawei (hinic) PMD
	- Marvell OCTEON TX2 PMD
	- shared memory (memif) PMD
	- zero copy and multi-queues in AF_XDP PMD
Baseband:
	- Intel FPGA LTE FEC PMD

More details in the release notes:
	http://doc.dpdk.org/guides/rel_notes/release_19_08.html


There are 70 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers).
Welcome to Abraham Tovar, Adam Dybkowski, Adham Masarwah,
Aideen McLoughlin, Amit Gupta, Amrutha Sampath, Anirudh Venkataramanan,
Artur Trybula, Ashijeet Acharya, Ashish Shah, Brett Creeley,
Christopher Reder, Dave Ertman, Dilshod Urazov, Eli Britstein,
Flavia Musatescu, Georgiy Levashov, Gosia Bakota, Grishma Kotecha,
Grzegorz Nitka, Hariprasad Govindharajan, Henry Tieman, Jacek Naczyk,
Jacob Keller, Jaroslaw Ilgiewicz, Jeb Cramer, Jesse Brandeburg,
Jingzhao Ni, Johan Källström, John OLoughlin, Július Milan, Kalesh AP,
Kanaka Durga Kotamarthy, Karol Kolacinski, Kevin Lampis, Kevin Scott,
Lance Richardson, Lavanya Govindarajan, Lev Faerman, Lukasz Bartosik,
Lukasz Gosiewski, Maciej Bielski, Marcin Zapolski, Mariusz Drost,
Marta Plantykow, Mesut Ali Ergin, Michel Machado, Mohsin Mazhar Shaikh,
Naresh Kumar PBS, Nicolas Chautru, Radu Bulie, Santoshkumar Karanappa
Rastapur, Satha Rao, Sean Morrissey, Shivanshu Shukla, Sriharsha
Basavapatna, Srinivas Narayan, Suanming Mou, Suyang Ju, Tao Zhu,
Tarun Singh, Thinh Tran, Ting Xu, Tummala Sivaprasad, Vamsi Attunuru,
Wenjie Li, William Tu, Xiao Zhang, Yuri Chipchev and Ziyang Xuan.

Below is the number of patches per company (with authors count):
    435     Intel (60)
    239     Marvell (19)
    164     Mellanox (15)
    109     Red Hat (5)
     84     Broadcom (10)
     77     Microsoft (2)
     51     Solarflare (7)
     28     ARM (5)
     25     NXP (6)
     24     6WIND (4)
     20     Huawei (4)
     12     OKTET Labs (3)
     11     Cisco (4)
      8     IBM (4)
      5     Semihalf (3)
      4     Netcope (2)
      4     Ericsson (1)

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top reviewers are:
    134     Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
    101     Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>
     67     Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>
     63     Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>
     44     David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
     43     Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>
     38     Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
     37     Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>
     34     Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>
     31     Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>
     31     Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
     31     Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>
     29     Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>
     27     Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>
     25     Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>
     23     Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>
     23     Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com>
     22     Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>
     20     Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>
     17     Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com>
     16     Shally Verma <shallyv@marvell.com>
     16     Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>
     16     Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
     15     Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>


The new features for 19.11 may be submitted during the next four weeks,
in order to be reviewed and integrated during September.
DPDK 19.11 should be released at the beginning of November.
	http://core.dpdk.org/roadmap#dates

In memory of Rami Rosen, I would like to encourage everybody
to clean up and carefully review the DPDK documentation.

Thanks everyone


PS: Let's meet at the DPDK Userspace in Bordeaux, France:
https://events.linuxfoundation.org/events/dpdk-userspace-2019-bordeaux



                 reply index

Thread overview: [no followups] expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=142332379.uZOAQRqkJE@xps \
    --to=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=announce@dpdk.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK announcements

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/announce/0 announce/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 announce announce/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/announce \
		announce@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index announce


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.announce


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox