DPDK announcements
 help / color / Atom feed
* [dpdk-announce] DPDK 19.11 released
@ 2019-11-28 23:50 Thomas Monjalon
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: Thomas Monjalon @ 2019-11-28 23:50 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: announce

A new major release is available:
	https://fast.dpdk.org/rel/dpdk-19.11.tar.xz

The statistics are quite impressive:
	1611 commits from 199 authors
	1914 files changed, 164270 insertions(+), 44609 deletions(-)


The branch 19.11 should be supported for at least two years,
making it recommended for system integration and deployment.
The maintainer of this new LTS is Luca Boccassi.

The new major ABI version is 20.
The next releases 20.02, 20.05 and 20.08 will be ABI compatible with 19.11.

Below are some new features, grouped by category.
General:
	- new ABI policy and versioning
	- API reworks in preparation of 1 year without ABI breakage
	- mempool objects not crossing pages
	- dynamic mbuf layout
	- eBPF arm64 JIT
	- LTO build
Networking:
	- Hisilicon hns3 driver
	- NXP PFE driver
	- virtio packed ring optimizations
	- ethdev hairpin API
	- ethdev flow tag API
	- ethdev packet type range API
	- ethdev LRO packet size API
	- RIB/FIB libraries
	- KNI with VA
Cryptography:
	- Marvell Nitrox driver
	- Marvell OCTEON TX2 crypto driver
	- session-less asymmetric crypto
	- IPsec SAD API
Applications:
	- IOAT example
	- l2fwd-event example
	- several examples are removed

More details in the release notes:
	http://doc.dpdk.org/guides/rel_notes/release_19_11.html


There are 70 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers).
Welcome to Abhishek Sachan, Adrian Moreno, Alvin Zhang,
Amaranath Somalapuram, Anand Sunkad, Andy Gospodarek, Anna Lukin,
Antara Ganesh Kolar, Bing Zhao, Bo Chen, Chengchang Tang,
Chengwen Feng, Chenxu Di, Chunsong Feng, Cristian Bidea, Doug Dziggel,
Feifei Wang, Guinan Sun, Hao Chen, Heinrich Kuhn, Hongbo Zheng,
Huisong Li, Igor Chauskin, Ivan Ilchenko, Jeremy Plsek, Jerry Hao OS,
Jiaqi Min, Jin Yu, Junfeng Guo, Junyu Jiang, Kommula Shiva Shankar,
Lin Li, Lu Qiuwen, Lunyuan Cui, Manish Tomar, Marcin Baran,
Md Fahad Iqbal Polash, Michael Pfeiffer, Michael Shamis,
Min Hu (Connor), Min Wang (Jushui), Mitch Williams, Nagadheeraj Rottela,
Paul Atkins, Pawel Modrak, Phanendra Vukkisala, Priyanka Jain,
Rahul Shah, Rajesh Ravi, Scott W Taylor, Shougang Wang,
Shuki Katzenelson, Subrahmanyam Nilla, Sucharitha Sarananaga,
Sunila Sahu, Sylvain Rodon, Tony Nguyen, Vakul Garg, Venkat Duvvuru,
Venkateshwarlu Nalla, Wangyu (Eric), Wei Hu (Xavier), Xiaobing Zhang,
Xiaofeng Deng, Xiaoyun Wang, Xun Ni, Yahui Cao,  Yilong Lv, Yu Zhang,
and Zengmo Gao.

Below is the number of patches per company (with authors count):
    559     Intel (73)
    209     Mellanox (16)
    173     Marvell (23)
    170     NXP (10)
    119     Broadcom (7)
     77     Red Hat (8)
     61     Huawei (9)
     49     OKTET Labs (4)
     41     ARM (7)
     35     Microsoft (3)
     21     6WIND (6)
     17     Solarflare (1)
     13     Chelsio (1)
     12     Cisco (3)
      9     IBM (1)
      5     AMD (1)

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top reviewers are:
    154     Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>
    118     Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
    113     Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>
     85     Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>
     78     Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>
     63     Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>
     62     Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>
     58     Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>
     58     Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>
     52     Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>
     48     Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>
     44     Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
     39     Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>
     36     Nipun Gupta <nipun.gupta@nxp.com>
     33     David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
     32     Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>
     32     Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>
     31     Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com>
     29     Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>
     29     Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>
     25     Ori Kam <orika@mellanox.com>
     24     Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
     22     Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>


The new features for 20.02 may be submitted during the next 12 days,
in order to be reviewed and integrated before mid-January.
DPDK 20.02 should be released on Valentine's Day.
	http://core.dpdk.org/roadmap#dates

Thanks everyone, and happy Thanksgiving to our American friends!



^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2019-11-28 23:50 [dpdk-announce] DPDK 19.11 released Thomas Monjalon

DPDK announcements

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/announce/0 announce/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 announce announce/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/announce \
		announce@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index announce


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.announce


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox