DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
To: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
Cc: Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Jasvinder Singh <jasvinder.singh@intel.com>,
	Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>, dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>,
	Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@mellanox.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] ethdev: limit maximum number of queues
Date: Wed, 27 Nov 2019 15:11:11 +0100
Message-ID: <7429394.Qh3vguxsr8@xps> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJFAV8yTB+4DZdN+3BOx8Y_cWe6bJFHL3y5=1Do+yW_Gs7CVTQ@mail.gmail.com>

27/11/2019 15:07, David Marchand:
> On Wed, Nov 27, 2019 at 3:06 PM Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com> wrote:
> >
> > On 11/27/2019 1:42 PM, Thomas Monjalon wrote:
> > > A buffer overflow happens in testpmd with some drivers
> > > since the queue arrays are limited to RTE_MAX_QUEUES_PER_PORT.
> > >
> > > The advertised capabilities of mlx4, mlx5 and softnic
> > > for the number of queues were the maximum number: UINT16_MAX.
> > > They must be limited by the configured RTE_MAX_QUEUES_PER_PORT
> > > that applications expect to be respected.
> > >
> > > The limitation is applied in above drivers having no limitation,
> > > and at ethdev level (function rte_eth_dev_info_get), in order
> > > to force the configured limit for all drivers.
> >
> > The limit is not device limit, should we reflect it into PMDs?
> > Why not keep the limit only in the ethdev?
> 
> +1.

Yes ethdev is enough.
I thought it would be better to document the limit in the PMDs as well,
instead of keeping gigantic max.

I can change if you feel strong about it.




  reply index

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-27 13:42 Thomas Monjalon
2019-11-27 14:05 ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-11-27 14:07   ` David Marchand
2019-11-27 14:11     ` Thomas Monjalon [this message]
2019-11-27 14:14       ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-11-27 14:15         ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-11-27 14:30       ` David Marchand
2019-11-27 14:31 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2] " Thomas Monjalon
2019-11-27 14:47   ` David Marchand
2019-11-27 15:09     ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " Thomas Monjalon

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=7429394.Qh3vguxsr8@xps \
    --to=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=jasvinder.singh@intel.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=rasland@mellanox.com \
    --cc=shahafs@mellanox.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox