DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
To: "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Shepard Siegel <shepard.siegel@atomicrules.com>,
	Ed Czeck <ed.czeck@atomicrules.com>,
	John Miller <john.miller@atomicrules.com>,
	Igor Russkikh <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>,
	Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com>,
	Matt Peters <matt.peters@windriver.com>,
	Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>,
	Shahed Shaikh <shshaikh@marvell.com>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Chas Williams <chas3@att.com>,
	Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	Michal Krawczyk <mk@semihalf.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	Evgeny Schemeilin <evgenys@amazon.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>,
	John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>,
	Hyong Youb Kim <hyonkim@cisco.com>, Gaetan Rivet <grive@u256.net>,
	Xiao Wang <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Shijith Thotton <sthotton@marvell.com>,
	Srisivasubramanian Srinivasan <srinivasan@marvell.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>,
	Zyta Szpak <zr@semihalf.com>, Liron Himi <lironh@marvell.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	Jasvinder Singh <jasvinder.singh@intel.com>,
	Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>,
	Keith Wiles <keith.wiles@intel.com>,
	Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>,
	Zhihong Wang <zhihong.wang@intel.com>,
	Yong Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>,
	Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	Jingjing Wu <jingjing.wu@intel.com>,
	dev@dpdk.org
Cc: Rosen Xu <rosen.xu@intel.com>,
	dev@dpdk.org, Ciara Loftus <ciara.loftus@intel.com>,
	Steven Webster <steven.webster@windriver.com>,
	Somalapuram Amaranath <asomalap@amd.com>,
	xavier.huwei@huawei.com, Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@nxp.com>,
	Wei Zhao <wei.zhao1@intel.com>, Jeff Guo <jia.guo@intel.com>,
	Igor Chauskin <igorch@amazon.com>,
	Ziyang Xuan <xuanziyang2@huawei.com>,
	Xiaoyun Wang <cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com>,
	Guoyang Zhou <zhouguoyang@huawei.com>,
	"Min Hu (Connor)" <humin29@huawei.com>,
	Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	Alfredo Cardigliano <cardigliano@ntop.org>,
	Jakub Grajciar <jgrajcia@cisco.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Long Li <longli@microsoft.com>,
	Martin Spinler <spinler@cesnet.cz>,
	Heinrich Kuhn <heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com>,
	Harman Kalra <hkalra@marvell.com>,
	Nithin Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	Kiran Kumar K <kirankumark@marvell.com>,
	Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>,
	ferruh.yigit@intel.com, Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] CALL to eth PMD maintainers: complete closing of port
Date: Mon, 14 Sep 2020 00:16:17 +0200
Message-ID: <80837131.n3tlCtGQ32@thomas> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <7235002.MNFtMmeBO2@thomas>

The patches for removing RTE_ETH_DEV_CLOSE_REMOVE are sent:
	https://patches.dpdk.org/project/dpdk/list/?series=12173

11 drivers are not supporting the new behaviour correctly:
	bnx2x, cxgbe, dpaa, dpaa2, enetc, ionic,
	ipn3ke, liquidio, nfp, pfe, qede

If you are the maintainer of one of these drivers,
you can still consider fixing it in the next days.


12/09/2020 13:25, Thomas Monjalon:
> 03/08/2020 20:50, Thomas Monjalon:
> > 18/04/2019 12:59, Thomas Monjalon:
> > > Hi all,
> > > 
> > > Since DPDK 18.11, the behaviour of the close operation is changed
> > > if RTE_ETH_DEV_CLOSE_REMOVE is enabled in the driver:
> > > port is released (i.e. totally freed and data erased) on close.
> > > This new behaviour is enabled per driver for a migration period.
> > > 
> > > Looking at the code, you can see these comments:
> > > /* old behaviour: only free queue arrays */
> > > RTE_ETHDEV_LOG(DEBUG, "Port closing is using an old behaviour.\n"
> > > 	"The driver %s should migrate to the new behaviour.\n",
> > > /* new behaviour: send event + reset state + free all data */
> > > 
> > > You can find an advice in the commit:
> > > 	http://git.dpdk.org/dpdk/commit/?id=23ea57a2a
> > > "
> > > When enabling RTE_ETH_DEV_CLOSE_REMOVE,
> > > the PMD must free all its private resources for the port,
> > > in its dev_close function.
> > > It is advised to call the dev_close function in the remove function
> > > in order to support removing a device without closing its ports.
> > > "
> > > 
> > > It would be great to complete this migration for the next LTS
> > > version, which will be 19.11.
> > 
> > For the record, it did not happen in 19.11.
> > 
> > > Following drivers should be migrated:
> > > ( find drivers/net -mindepth 1 -maxdepth 1 -type d | cut -d/ -f3 ; git grep -l RTE_ETH_DEV_CLOSE_REMOVE drivers | cut -d/ -f3 ) | sort | uniq -u
> > [...]
> > 
> > The progress in April 2019 was 4 of 46 (9%).
> > 
> > > Please let's progress smoothly on this topic, thanks.
> > 
> > More than one year later, the progress is 26 of 53 (49%).
> > 
> > > The concerned maintainers (Cc) can be found with the following command:
> > > devtools/get-maintainer.sh $(( find drivers/net -mindepth 1 -maxdepth 1 -type d | cut -d/ -f-3 ; git grep -l RTE_ETH_DEV_CLOSE_REMOVE drivers ) | sort | uniq -u)
> > 
> > We cannot wait forever. Temporary cannot be longer than 2 years.
> > I am going to send a deprecation notice to remove the "temporary"
> > flag RTE_ETH_DEV_CLOSE_REMOVE.
> 
> The deprecation notice was merged in 20.08:
> 	http://mails.dpdk.org/archives/dev/2020-August/177314.html
> 
> > It will break drivers which are not migrated.
> > It will probably help to find motivation in new priorities.
> > 
> > More details on what to do can be found in this mail thread:
> > 	http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/1748144.UFpUr2FPnr@xps/
> 
> Summary:
> 
> * The freeing of private port resources must be moved in the PMD
> from the ".remove(device)" function to the ".dev_close(port)" function.
> 
> * If a generic resource (.mac_addrs or .hash_mac_addrs) cannot be freed,
> it must be set to NULL in ".dev_close" PMD function to protect from
> subsequent rte_eth_dev_release_port() freeing.
> 
> * Note 1:
> The generic resources are freed in rte_eth_dev_release_port(),
> after ".dev_close" is called in rte_eth_dev_close(), but not when
> calling ".dev_close" directly from the ".remove" PMD function.
> That's why rte_eth_dev_release_port() must still be called explicitly
> from ".remove(device)" after calling the ".dev_close" PMD function.
> 
> * Note 2:
> If a device can have multiple ports, the common resources must be freed
> only in the ".remove(device)" function.
> 
> * Note 3:
> The port is supposed to be in a stopped state when it is closed.
> If it is not the case, it is free to the PMD implementation
> how to react when trying to close a non-stopped port:
> either try to stop it automatically or just return an error.




  reply	other threads:[~2020-09-13 22:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 22+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-04-18 10:59 Thomas Monjalon
2019-04-18 10:59 ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-04-28  6:57 ` Matan Azrad
2019-04-28  6:57   ` Matan Azrad
2019-04-28 16:17   ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-04-28 16:17     ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-04-29 16:51 ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-04-29 16:51   ` Ferruh Yigit
2019-04-29 20:30   ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-04-29 20:30     ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-04-30 12:45     ` Nithin Dabilpuram
2019-04-30 12:45       ` Nithin Dabilpuram
2019-04-30 14:12       ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-04-30 14:12         ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-08-03 18:50 ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-09-12 11:25   ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-09-13 22:16     ` Thomas Monjalon [this message]
2020-09-14  9:20       ` Rahul Lakkireddy
2020-09-22  3:04       ` Xu, Rosen
2020-09-22  7:28         ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-09-27  5:42           ` Xu, Rosen
2020-09-25  4:22       ` Rasesh Mody

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=80837131.n3tlCtGQ32@thomas \
    --to=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akhil.goyal@nxp.com \
    --cc=anatoly.burakov@intel.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=asomalap@amd.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=cardigliano@ntop.org \
    --cc=chas3@att.com \
    --cc=ciara.loftus@intel.com \
    --cc=cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com \
    --cc=cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ed.czeck@atomicrules.com \
    --cc=evgenys@amazon.com \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=g.singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=grive@u256.net \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hkalra@marvell.com \
    --cc=humin29@huawei.com \
    --cc=hyonkim@cisco.com \
    --cc=igor.russkikh@aquantia.com \
    --cc=igorch@amazon.com \
    --cc=jasvinder.singh@intel.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jgrajcia@cisco.com \
    --cc=jia.guo@intel.com \
    --cc=jingjing.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=john.miller@atomicrules.com \
    --cc=johndale@cisco.com \
    --cc=keith.wiles@intel.com \
    --cc=kirankumark@marvell.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=lironh@marvell.com \
    --cc=longli@microsoft.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=matt.peters@windriver.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=mczekaj@marvell.com \
    --cc=mk@semihalf.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=pavel.belous@aquantia.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=rosen.xu@intel.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@mellanox.com \
    --cc=shepard.siegel@atomicrules.com \
    --cc=shshaikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=spinler@cesnet.cz \
    --cc=srinivasan@marvell.com \
    --cc=steven.webster@windriver.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=sthotton@marvell.com \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    --cc=wei.zhao1@intel.com \
    --cc=xavier.huwei@huawei.com \
    --cc=xiao.w.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=xuanziyang2@huawei.com \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --cc=yongwang@vmware.com \
    --cc=zhihong.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=zhouguoyang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zr@semihalf.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git