DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Xu, Rosen" <rosen.xu@intel.com>
To: "Yigit, Ferruh" <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	"John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>,
	"Loftus, Ciara" <ciara.loftus@intel.com>,
	"Zhang, Qi Z" <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Shepard Siegel <shepard.siegel@atomicrules.com>,
	Ed Czeck <ed.czeck@atomicrules.com>,
	"John Miller" <john.miller@atomicrules.com>,
	Igor Russkikh <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>,
	Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com>,
	Steven Webster <steven.webster@windriver.com>,
	Matt Peters <matt.peters@windriver.com>,
	Somalapuram Amaranath <asomalap@amd.com>,
	"Rasesh Mody" <rmody@marvell.com>,
	Shahed Shaikh <shshaikh@marvell.com>,
	"Ajit Khaparde" <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Chas Williams <chas3@att.com>,
	"Min Hu (Connor)" <humin29@huawei.com>,
	Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@oss.nxp.com>,
	"Guo, Jia" <jia.guo@intel.com>,
	"Wang, Haiyue" <haiyue.wang@intel.com>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	Michal Krawczyk <mk@semihalf.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	"Evgeny Schemeilin" <evgenys@amazon.com>,
	Igor Chauskin <igorch@amazon.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>,
	John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>,
	"Hyong Youb Kim" <hyonkim@cisco.com>,
	Gaetan Rivet <grive@u256.net>,
	"Wang, Xiao W" <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>,
	Ziyang Xuan <xuanziyang2@huawei.com>,
	Xiaoyun Wang <cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com>,
	Guoyang Zhou <zhouguoyang@huawei.com>,
	"Wei Hu (Xavier)" <xavier.huwei@huawei.com>,
	Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>,
	"Xing, Beilei" <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	"Wu, Jingjing" <jingjing.wu@intel.com>,
	"Yang, Qiming" <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Alfredo Cardigliano <cardigliano@ntop.org>,
	Shijith Thotton <sthotton@marvell.com>,
	Srisivasubramanian Srinivasan <srinivasan@marvell.com>,
	Jakub Grajciar <jgrajcia@cisco.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@nvidia.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@nvidia.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>,
	Zyta Szpak <zr@semihalf.com>, Liron Himi <lironh@marvell.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	"Long Li" <longli@microsoft.com>,
	Martin Spinler <spinler@cesnet.cz>,
	Heinrich Kuhn <heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com>,
	Tetsuya Mukawa <mtetsuyah@gmail.com>,
	"Harman Kalra" <hkalra@marvell.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	"Nithin Dabilpuram" <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	Kiran Kumar K <kirankumark@marvell.com>,
	Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>,
	"Richardson, Bruce" <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru>,
	"Wiles, Keith" <keith.wiles@intel.com>,
	Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>,
	"Xia, Chenbo" <chenbo.xia@intel.com>,
	"Wang, Zhihong" <zhihong.wang@intel.com>,
	Yong Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>,
	"Thomas Monjalon" <thomas@monjalon.net>
Cc: "dev@dpdk.org" <dev@dpdk.org>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [RFC v2 1/2] ethdev: provide device flag to bypass ethdev queue xstats
Date: Sun, 18 Oct 2020 12:09:06 +0000
Message-ID: <BYAPR11MB29019DC45FFB7C0E5986D7BB89010@BYAPR11MB2901.namprd11.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201014022649.2165524-1-ferruh.yigit@intel.com>



> -----Original Message-----
> From: Yigit, Ferruh <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, October 14, 2020 10:27
> To: Yigit, Ferruh <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>; John W. Linville
> <linville@tuxdriver.com>; Loftus, Ciara <ciara.loftus@intel.com>; Zhang, Qi Z
> <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>; Shepard Siegel <shepard.siegel@atomicrules.com>;
> Ed Czeck <ed.czeck@atomicrules.com>; John Miller
> <john.miller@atomicrules.com>; Igor Russkikh
> <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>; Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com>;
> Steven Webster <steven.webster@windriver.com>; Matt Peters
> <matt.peters@windriver.com>; Somalapuram Amaranath
> <asomalap@amd.com>; Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>; Shahed
> Shaikh <shshaikh@marvell.com>; Ajit Khaparde
> <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>; Somnath Kotur
> <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>; Chas Williams <chas3@att.com>; Min Hu
> (Connor) <humin29@huawei.com>; Rahul Lakkireddy
> <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>; Hemant Agrawal
> <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>; Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@oss.nxp.com>;
> Guo, Jia <jia.guo@intel.com>; Wang, Haiyue <haiyue.wang@intel.com>;
> Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>; Michal Krawczyk <mk@semihalf.com>;
> Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>; Evgeny Schemeilin
> <evgenys@amazon.com>; Igor Chauskin <igorch@amazon.com>;
> Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>; John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>;
> Hyong Youb Kim <hyonkim@cisco.com>; Gaetan Rivet <grive@u256.net>;
> Wang, Xiao W <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>; Ziyang Xuan
> <xuanziyang2@huawei.com>; Xiaoyun Wang
> <cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com>; Guoyang Zhou
> <zhouguoyang@huawei.com>; Wei Hu (Xavier)
> <xavier.huwei@huawei.com>; Yisen Zhuang <yisen.zhuang@huawei.com>;
> Xing, Beilei <beilei.xing@intel.com>; Wu, Jingjing <jingjing.wu@intel.com>;
> Yang, Qiming <qiming.yang@intel.com>; Alfredo Cardigliano
> <cardigliano@ntop.org>; Xu, Rosen <rosen.xu@intel.com>; Shijith Thotton
> <sthotton@marvell.com>; Srisivasubramanian Srinivasan
> <srinivasan@marvell.com>; Jakub Grajciar <jgrajcia@cisco.com>; Matan
> Azrad <matan@nvidia.com>; Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@nvidia.com>;
> Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>; Zyta Szpak
> <zr@semihalf.com>; Liron Himi <lironh@marvell.com>; Stephen Hemminger
> <sthemmin@microsoft.com>; K. Y. Srinivasan <kys@microsoft.com>;
> Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>; Long Li <longli@microsoft.com>;
> Martin Spinler <spinler@cesnet.cz>; Heinrich Kuhn
> <heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com>; Tetsuya Mukawa
> <mtetsuyah@gmail.com>; Harman Kalra <hkalra@marvell.com>; Jerin Jacob
> <jerinj@marvell.com>; Nithin Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>;
> Kiran Kumar K <kirankumark@marvell.com>; Akhil Goyal
> <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>; Richardson, Bruce <bruce.richardson@intel.com>;
> Andrew Rybchenko <andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru>; Wiles, Keith
> <keith.wiles@intel.com>; Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>; Maxime
> Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>; Xia, Chenbo
> <chenbo.xia@intel.com>; Wang, Zhihong <zhihong.wang@intel.com>; Yong
> Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>; Thomas Monjalon
> <thomas@monjalon.net>
> Cc: dev@dpdk.org
> Subject: [RFC v2 1/2] ethdev: provide device flag to bypass ethdev queue
> xstats
> 
> Queue stats are stored in 'struct rte_eth_stats' as array and array size is
> defined by 'RTE_ETHDEV_QUEUE_STAT_CNTRS' compile time flag.
> 
> As a result of technical board discussion, decided to remove the queue
> statistics from 'struct rte_eth_stats' in the long term.
> 
> Instead PMDs should represent the queue statistics via xstats, this gives
> more flexibility on the number of the queues supported.
> 
> Currently queue stats in the xstats are filled by ethdev layer, using some
> basic stats, when queue stats removed from basic stats the responsibility to
> fill the relevant xstats will be pushed to the PMDs.
> 
> During the switch period, temporary
> 'RTE_ETH_DEV_AUTOFILL_QUEUE_XSTATS'
> device flag is created. Initially all PMDs using xstats set this flag.
> The PMDs implemented queue stats in the xstats should clear the flag.
> 
> When all PMDs switch to the xstats for the queue stats, queue stats related
> fields from 'struct rte_eth_stats' will be removed, as well as
> 'RTE_ETH_DEV_AUTOFILL_QUEUE_XSTATS' flag.
> Later 'RTE_ETHDEV_QUEUE_STAT_CNTRS' compile time flag also can be
> removed.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
> ---
>  drivers/net/af_packet/rte_eth_af_packet.c |  1 +
>  drivers/net/af_xdp/rte_eth_af_xdp.c       |  1 +
>  drivers/net/ark/ark_ethdev.c              |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/atlantic/atl_ethdev.c         |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/avp/avp_ethdev.c              |  1 +
>  drivers/net/axgbe/axgbe_ethdev.c          |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/bnx2x/bnx2x_ethdev.c          |  1 +
>  drivers/net/bnxt/bnxt_ethdev.c            |  1 +
>  drivers/net/bnxt/bnxt_reps.c              |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/bonding/rte_eth_bond_pmd.c    |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/cxgbe/cxgbe_ethdev.c          |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/dpaa/dpaa_ethdev.c            |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/dpaa2/dpaa2_ethdev.c          |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/e1000/em_ethdev.c             |  1 +
>  drivers/net/e1000/igb_ethdev.c            |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/ena/ena_ethdev.c              |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/enetc/enetc_ethdev.c          |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/enic/enic_ethdev.c            |  1 +
>  drivers/net/enic/enic_vf_representor.c    |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/failsafe/failsafe.c           |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/fm10k/fm10k_ethdev.c          |  1 +
>  drivers/net/hinic/hinic_pmd_ethdev.c      |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/hns3/hns3_ethdev.c            |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/hns3/hns3_ethdev_vf.c         |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/i40e/i40e_ethdev.c            |  1 +
>  drivers/net/i40e/i40e_ethdev_vf.c         |  1 +
>  drivers/net/i40e/i40e_vf_representor.c    |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/iavf/iavf_ethdev.c            |  1 +
>  drivers/net/ice/ice_dcf_ethdev.c          |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/ice/ice_ethdev.c              |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/igc/igc_ethdev.c              |  1 +
>  drivers/net/ionic/ionic_ethdev.c          |  1 +
>  drivers/net/ipn3ke/ipn3ke_representor.c   |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/ixgbe/ixgbe_ethdev.c          |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/kni/rte_eth_kni.c             |  1 +
>  drivers/net/liquidio/lio_ethdev.c         |  1 +
>  drivers/net/memif/rte_eth_memif.c         |  1 +
>  drivers/net/mlx4/mlx4.c                   |  1 +
>  drivers/net/mlx5/linux/mlx5_os.c          |  1 +
>  drivers/net/mvneta/mvneta_ethdev.c        |  1 +
>  drivers/net/mvpp2/mrvl_ethdev.c           |  1 +
>  drivers/net/netvsc/hn_ethdev.c            |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/nfb/nfb_ethdev.c              |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/nfp/nfp_net.c                 |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/null/rte_eth_null.c           |  1 +
>  drivers/net/octeontx/octeontx_ethdev.c    |  1 +
>  drivers/net/octeontx2/otx2_ethdev.c       |  1 +
>  drivers/net/pcap/rte_eth_pcap.c           |  1 +
>  drivers/net/pfe/pfe_ethdev.c              |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/qede/qede_ethdev.c            |  1 +
>  drivers/net/ring/rte_eth_ring.c           |  1 +
>  drivers/net/sfc/sfc_ethdev.c              |  1 +
>  drivers/net/szedata2/rte_eth_szedata2.c   |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/tap/rte_eth_tap.c             |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/thunderx/nicvf_ethdev.c       |  1 +
>  drivers/net/vhost/rte_eth_vhost.c         |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/virtio/virtio_ethdev.c        |  2 ++
>  drivers/net/vmxnet3/vmxnet3_ethdev.c      |  1 +
>  lib/librte_ethdev/rte_ethdev.c            | 18 ++++++++++++++----
>  lib/librte_ethdev/rte_ethdev.h            |  5 +++++
>  60 files changed, 106 insertions(+), 12 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/net/ipn3ke/ipn3ke_representor.c
> b/drivers/net/ipn3ke/ipn3ke_representor.c
> index b9fb4d4e46..a8765b5f4e 100644
> --- a/drivers/net/ipn3ke/ipn3ke_representor.c
> +++ b/drivers/net/ipn3ke/ipn3ke_representor.c
> @@ -2964,7 +2964,8 @@ ipn3ke_rpst_init(struct rte_eth_dev *ethdev, void
> *init_params)
>  		return -ENODEV;
>  	}
> 
> -	ethdev->data->dev_flags |= RTE_ETH_DEV_REPRESENTOR;
> +	ethdev->data->dev_flags |= RTE_ETH_DEV_REPRESENTOR |
> +
> 	RTE_ETH_DEV_AUTOFILL_QUEUE_XSTATS;
> 
>  	rte_spinlock_lock(&ipn3ke_link_notify_list_lk);
>  	TAILQ_INSERT_TAIL(&ipn3ke_rpst_list, rpst, next); diff --git

Acked-by: Rosen Xu<rosen.xu@intel.com>

      parent reply index

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-10-12 16:46 [dpdk-dev] [RFC 1/2] ethdev: move queue stats to xstats Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-12 16:46 ` [dpdk-dev] [RFC 2/2] doc: announce queue stats moving " Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-12 16:55   ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-techboard] " Stephen Hemminger
2020-10-12 21:53 ` [dpdk-dev] [RFC 1/2] ethdev: move queue stats " Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-13  8:31   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-10-13  9:05     ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-13  9:16       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-10-13 22:41         ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-13 15:04       ` Stephen Hemminger
2020-10-13 22:53   ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-14  2:26 ` [dpdk-dev] [RFC v2 1/2] ethdev: provide device flag to bypass ethdev queue xstats Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-14  2:26   ` [dpdk-dev] [RFC v2 2/2] doc: announce queue stats moving to xstats Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-14  8:43     ` Kinsella, Ray
2020-10-16 14:34       ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-16 14:36         ` Bruce Richardson
2020-10-16 14:37         ` Jerin Jacob
2020-10-16 15:07         ` Stephen Hemminger
2020-10-16 17:48           ` Ajit Khaparde
2020-10-14  9:35     ` Igor Ryzhov
2020-10-14  9:45       ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-15  7:55         ` Igor Ryzhov
2020-10-15  8:03           ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-15 17:39             ` Igor Ryzhov
2020-10-15 17:45               ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-14  8:40   ` [dpdk-dev] [RFC v2 1/2] ethdev: provide device flag to bypass ethdev queue xstats Wang, Haiyue
2020-10-14  8:46   ` Wang, Xiao W
2020-10-16 12:16   ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-16 14:32     ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-10-16 21:38       ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-10-19  3:03     ` Min Hu (Connor)
2020-10-18 12:09   ` Xu, Rosen [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=BYAPR11MB29019DC45FFB7C0E5986D7BB89010@BYAPR11MB2901.namprd11.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=rosen.xu@intel.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akhil.goyal@nxp.com \
    --cc=andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=asomalap@amd.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=cardigliano@ntop.org \
    --cc=chas3@att.com \
    --cc=chenbo.xia@intel.com \
    --cc=ciara.loftus@intel.com \
    --cc=cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ed.czeck@atomicrules.com \
    --cc=evgenys@amazon.com \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=g.singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=grive@u256.net \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=haiyue.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hkalra@marvell.com \
    --cc=humin29@huawei.com \
    --cc=hyonkim@cisco.com \
    --cc=igor.russkikh@aquantia.com \
    --cc=igorch@amazon.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jgrajcia@cisco.com \
    --cc=jia.guo@intel.com \
    --cc=jingjing.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=john.miller@atomicrules.com \
    --cc=johndale@cisco.com \
    --cc=keith.wiles@intel.com \
    --cc=kirankumark@marvell.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=linville@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=lironh@marvell.com \
    --cc=longli@microsoft.com \
    --cc=matan@nvidia.com \
    --cc=matt.peters@windriver.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=mczekaj@marvell.com \
    --cc=mk@semihalf.com \
    --cc=mtetsuyah@gmail.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=pavel.belous@aquantia.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@oss.nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@nvidia.com \
    --cc=shepard.siegel@atomicrules.com \
    --cc=shshaikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=spinler@cesnet.cz \
    --cc=srinivasan@marvell.com \
    --cc=steven.webster@windriver.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=sthotton@marvell.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=viacheslavo@nvidia.com \
    --cc=xavier.huwei@huawei.com \
    --cc=xiao.w.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=xuanziyang2@huawei.com \
    --cc=yisen.zhuang@huawei.com \
    --cc=yongwang@vmware.com \
    --cc=zhihong.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=zhouguoyang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zr@semihalf.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox