DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / Atom feed
From: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
To: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Cc: dev <dev@dpdk.org>, Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	 Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>,  Ray Kinsella <mdr@ashroe.eu>,
	John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>,
	 Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	 Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	Declan Doherty <declan.doherty@intel.com>,
	 Adrien Mazarguil <adrien.mazarguil@6wind.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	 Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [RFC PATCH] mark experimental variables
Date: Wed, 27 Nov 2019 21:45:46 +0100
Message-ID: <CAJFAV8yzLSLWVPaG_Tm3fUbrDfaehT48k-EKqHyGmd4r4zacXg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191126142212.GC21200@hmswarspite.think-freely.org>

On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 3:22 PM Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> wrote:
> On Mon, Nov 25, 2019 at 05:13:14PM +0100, David Marchand wrote:
> > So far, we did not pay attention to direct access to variables but they
> > are part of the API/ABI too and should be clearly identified.
> >
> > Introduce a __rte_experimental_var tag and mark existing variables.
> >
> > Fixes: a4bcd61de82d ("buildtools: add script to check experimental API exports")
> > Cc: stable@dpdk.org
> >
> > Signed-off-by: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
> > ---
> > Quick patch to try to catch experimental variables.
> > Not sure if we could use a single section, so please advise if there is
> > better to do about this.
> >
> I don't see any definition of __rte_experimental_var here, won't the
> preprocessor choke on this when you try to compile without that?

Sorry, not getting your point.
If there is an issue, then it is the same as __rte_experimental.

[snip]

> > diff --git a/lib/librte_eal/common/include/rte_compat.h b/lib/librte_eal/common/include/rte_compat.h
> > index 3eb33784b..3fd05179f 100644
> > --- a/lib/librte_eal/common/include/rte_compat.h
> > +++ b/lib/librte_eal/common/include/rte_compat.h
> > @@ -11,11 +11,16 @@
> >  #define __rte_experimental \
> >  __attribute__((deprecated("Symbol is not yet part of stable ABI"), \
> >  section(".text.experimental")))
> > +#define __rte_experimental_var \
> > +__attribute__((deprecated("Symbol is not yet part of stable ABI"), \
> > +section(".data.experimental")))
> >
> >  #else
> >
> >  #define __rte_experimental \
> >  __attribute__((section(".text.experimental")))
> > +#define __rte_experimental_var \
> > +__attribute__((section(".data.experimental")))
> >
> >  #endif
> >


-- 
David Marchand


  reply index

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-25 16:13 David Marchand
2019-11-26  9:25 ` Ray Kinsella
2019-11-26  9:50   ` David Marchand
2019-11-26 14:15   ` Neil Horman
2019-11-26 14:22 ` Neil Horman
2019-11-27 20:45   ` David Marchand [this message]
2019-11-29 11:43     ` Neil Horman
2019-11-29 12:03       ` David Marchand
2019-12-02 15:20 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] " David Marchand
2019-12-03  8:33   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-12-03 15:26   ` Neil Horman
2020-01-09 14:13   ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " Thomas Monjalon
2020-01-09 16:49     ` David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAJFAV8yzLSLWVPaG_Tm3fUbrDfaehT48k-EKqHyGmd4r4zacXg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=adrien.mazarguil@6wind.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com \
    --cc=declan.doherty@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=john.mcnamara@intel.com \
    --cc=marko.kovacevic@intel.com \
    --cc=mdr@ashroe.eu \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox