patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / Atom feed
From: "Burakov, Anatoly" <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
To: Nick Connolly <nick.connolly@mayadata.io>,
	David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>,
	Didier Pallard <didier.pallard@6wind.com>,
	Nicolas Dichtel <nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com>
Cc: dev@dpdk.org, stable@dpdk.org
Subject: Re: [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v2] mem: fix allocation failure on non-NUMA kernel
Date: Tue, 13 Oct 2020 10:42:32 +0100
Message-ID: <357aeeec-f5f6-4ae4-7a62-47e89a9450ee@intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201012192256.3651-1-nick.connolly@mayadata.io>

On 12-Oct-20 8:22 PM, Nick Connolly wrote:
> Running dpdk-helloworld on Linux with lib numa present,
> but no kernel support for NUMA (CONFIG_NUMA=n) causes
> ret_service_init() to fail with EAL: error allocating
> rte services array.
> 
> alloc_seg() calls get_mempolicy to verify that the allocation
> has happened on the correct socket, but receives ENOSYS from
> the kernel and fails the allocation.
> 
> The allocated socket should only be verified if check_numa() is true.
> 
> Fixes: 2a96c88be83e ("mem: ease init in a docker container")
> Cc: nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com
> Cc: stable@dpdk.org
> 
> Signed-off-by: Nick Connolly <nick.connolly@mayadata.io>
> ---

Acked-by: Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>

-- 
Thanks,
Anatoly

  reply index

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-10-12 19:22 Nick Connolly
2020-10-13  9:42 ` Burakov, Anatoly [this message]
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2020-08-05 12:26 [dpdk-stable] [PATCH] " Nick Connolly
2020-10-12 19:28 ` [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v2] " Nick Connolly
2020-10-13  7:59   ` Nicolas Dichtel
2020-10-13 12:01     ` David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=357aeeec-f5f6-4ae4-7a62-47e89a9450ee@intel.com \
    --to=anatoly.burakov@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=didier.pallard@6wind.com \
    --cc=nick.connolly@mayadata.io \
    --cc=nicolas.dichtel@6wind.com \
    --cc=olivier.matz@6wind.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox