patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Min Hu (Connor)" <humin29@huawei.com>
To: Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>
Cc: Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>, <dev@dpdk.org>,
	<stable@dpdk.org>, Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru>,
	Ciara Power <ciara.power@intel.com>,
	Keith Wiles <keith.wiles@intel.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>, Jeff Guo <jia.guo@intel.com>,
	"Haiyue Wang" <haiyue.wang@intel.com>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	<somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>, <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	<qi.z.zhang@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-stable] [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] ethdev: avoid blocking telemetry callback for link status
Date: Tue, 19 Jan 2021 10:58:42 +0800
Message-ID: <52dbf960-6d9e-5070-cde1-27c5a1e32e97@huawei.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210118182614.63f1d5d2@hermes.local>

Thank Stephen,
but in which the scenarios, it should wait link to up, in which
scenarios, it should not ?
By the way, how to define the "wait" time value ?



在 2021/1/19 10:26, Stephen Hemminger 写道:
> On Tue, 19 Jan 2021 09:06:48 +0800
> "Min Hu (Connor)" <humin29@huawei.com> wrote:
> 
>> Hi, Bruce and all,
>> 	Do you know the difference between "rte_eth_link_get" and
>> "rte_eth_link_get_nowait"? I know they call funciton "link_update"
>> with differenct parameter "wait_to_complete"(set 1 means wait, set 0
>>    means not wait). But how to define the "wait" time, and why it shoud wait?
>> 	On the further, What are the application scenarios of the two
>> APIs?
>>
> 
> The default behavior of rte_eth_link_get (in some drivers) is to wait
> for link to come up.  Many drivers don't do this. It seems mostly the
> Intel ones that do.
> .
> 

  reply	other threads:[~2021-01-19  2:58 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-14 12:17 [dpdk-stable] " Bruce Richardson
2021-01-14 15:06 ` Power, Ciara
2021-01-18 14:02   ` [dpdk-stable] [dpdk-dev] " Thomas Monjalon
2021-01-18 14:48     ` Ferruh Yigit
2021-01-19  1:06 ` Min Hu (Connor)
2021-01-19  2:26   ` Stephen Hemminger
2021-01-19  2:58     ` Min Hu (Connor) [this message]
2021-01-19 10:06       ` Bruce Richardson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=52dbf960-6d9e-5070-cde1-27c5a1e32e97@huawei.com \
    --to=humin29@huawei.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=ciara.power@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=haiyue.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=jia.guo@intel.com \
    --cc=keith.wiles@intel.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git