DPDK usage discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>
To: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
Cc: dpdk-dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	users@dpdk.org,  David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	 Andrew Rybchenko <andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	 Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@nvidia.com>,
	 Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>,
	Akhil Goyal <gakhil@marvell.com>,
	Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>,
	Kevin Traynor <ktraynor@redhat.com>,
	 Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	Ray Kinsella <mdr@ashroe.eu>,
	 "Ananyev, Konstantin" <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>,
	 Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Aaron Conole <aconole@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: release schedule change proposal
Date: Wed, 17 Nov 2021 20:08:23 -0800
Message-ID: <CACZ4nhs8iEC2-wnMiSQvXZQ+PMKnNCk6x82PdMb_4YjZ4-6ELQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <5786413.XMpytKYiJR@thomas>

On Mon, Nov 15, 2021 at 6:58 AM Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> wrote:
>
> For the last 5 years, DPDK was doing 4 releases per year,
> in February, May, August and November (the LTS one):
>         .02   .05   .08   .11 (LTS)
>
> This schedule has multiple issues:
>         - clash with China's Spring Festival
>         - too many rushes, impacting maintainers & testers
>         - not much buffer, impacting proposal period
>
> I propose to switch to a new schedule with 3 releases per year:
>         .03      .07      .11 (LTS)
>
> New LTS branch would start at the same time of the year as before.
> There would be one less intermediate release during spring/summer:
> .05 and .08 intermediate releases would become a single .07.
> I think it has almost no impact for the users.
> This change could be done starting next year.
>
> In details, this is how we could extend some milestones:
>
>         ideal schedule so far (in 13 weeks):
>                 proposal deadline: 4
>                 rc1 - API freeze: 5
>                 rc2 - PMD features freeze: 2
>                 rc3 - app features freeze: 1
>                 rc4 - last chance to fix: 1
>                 release: 0
>
>         proposed schedule (in 17 weeks):
>                 proposal deadline: 4
>                 rc1 - API freeze: 7
>                 rc2 - PMD features freeze: 3
>                 rc3 - app features freeze: 1
>                 rc4 - more fixes: 1
>                 rc5 - last chance buffer: 1
>                 release: 0
+1

>
> Opinions?
>
>

      parent reply	other threads:[~2021-11-18  4:08 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-11-15 14:58 Thomas Monjalon
2021-11-15 15:11 ` Luca Boccassi
2021-11-15 15:39   ` Jerin Jacob
2021-11-15 16:06 ` Kevin Traynor
2021-11-19 13:48   ` Flavio Leitner
2021-11-19 15:22   ` Ilya Maximets
2021-11-15 16:58 ` Stephen Hemminger
2021-11-15 17:15   ` Shepard Siegel
2021-11-18  4:08 ` Ajit Khaparde [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACZ4nhs8iEC2-wnMiSQvXZQ+PMKnNCk6x82PdMb_4YjZ4-6ELQ@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=aconole@redhat.com \
    --cc=andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=bluca@debian.org \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=gakhil@marvell.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=ktraynor@redhat.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=mdr@ashroe.eu \
    --cc=olivier.matz@6wind.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=rasland@nvidia.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=users@dpdk.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK usage discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/users/0 users/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 users users/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/users \
		users@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index users

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.users


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git