DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Martin Havlik <xhavli56@stud.fit.vutbr.cz>
To: xhavli56@stud.fit.vutbr.cz, Matan Azrad <matan@nvidia.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@nvidia.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>,
	Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	Asaf Penso <asafp@nvidia.com>, Jiawei Wang <jiaweiw@nvidia.com>,
	Bing Zhao <bingz@nvidia.com>, Xueming Li <xuemingl@nvidia.com>,
	Tal Shnaiderman <talshn@nvidia.com>, Shun Hao <shunh@nvidia.com>,
	Ciara Power <ciara.power@intel.com>,
	Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	Michael Baum <michaelba@nvidia.com>,
	Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@nvidia.com>
Cc: dev@dpdk.org, Jan Viktorin <viktorin@cesnet.cz>
Subject: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 1/4] doc: clarify RTE flow behaviour on port stop/start
Date: Wed, 21 Jul 2021 17:55:47 +0200
Message-ID: <20210721155550.188663-2-xhavli56@stud.fit.vutbr.cz> (raw)

It is now clearly stated that RTE flow rules can be
created only after the port is started.

Signed-off-by: Martin Havlik <xhavli56@stud.fit.vutbr.cz>
---
 doc/guides/nics/mlx5.rst | 6 +++++-
 1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/doc/guides/nics/mlx5.rst b/doc/guides/nics/mlx5.rst
index f5b727c1ee..119d537adf 100644
--- a/doc/guides/nics/mlx5.rst
+++ b/doc/guides/nics/mlx5.rst
@@ -1790,21 +1790,25 @@ Notes for rte_flow
 ------------------
 
 Flows are not cached in the driver.
 When stopping a device port, all the flows created on this port from the
 application will be flushed automatically in the background.
 After stopping the device port, all flows on this port become invalid and
 not represented in the system.
 All references to these flows held by the application should be discarded
 directly but neither destroyed nor flushed.
 
-The application should re-create the flows as required after the port restart.
+The application should re-create the flows as required after the port is
+started again.
+
+Creating flows before port start is not permitted. All flows the application
+wants to create have to be created after the port is started.
 
 Notes for testpmd
 -----------------
 
 Compared to librte_net_mlx4 that implements a single RSS configuration per
 port, librte_net_mlx5 supports per-protocol RSS configuration.
 
 Since ``testpmd`` defaults to IP RSS mode and there is currently no
 command-line parameter to enable additional protocols (UDP and TCP as well
 as IP), the following commands must be entered from its CLI to get the same
-- 
2.27.0


             reply	other threads:[~2021-07-21 15:56 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-21 15:55 Martin Havlik [this message]
2021-07-22 10:32 ` Andrew Rybchenko
2021-07-22 11:07   ` Dmitry Kozlyuk

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210721155550.188663-2-xhavli56@stud.fit.vutbr.cz \
    --to=xhavli56@stud.fit.vutbr.cz \
    --cc=asafp@nvidia.com \
    --cc=bingz@nvidia.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=ciara.power@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=jiaweiw@nvidia.com \
    --cc=matan@nvidia.com \
    --cc=michaelba@nvidia.com \
    --cc=rasland@nvidia.com \
    --cc=shahafs@nvidia.com \
    --cc=shunh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=talshn@nvidia.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=viacheslavo@nvidia.com \
    --cc=viktorin@cesnet.cz \
    --cc=xuemingl@nvidia.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git