DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Liu <dliu@iol.unh.edu>
To: dev@dpdk.org, dts@dpdk.org
Cc: Lincoln Lavoie <lylavoie@iol.unh.edu>,
	David Liu <dliu@iol.unh.edu>,
	 David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	 Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	 Ori Kam <orika@mellanox.com>,
	Ciara Power <ciara.power@intel.com>,
	 Ivan Ilchenko <ivan.ilchenko@oktetlabs.ru>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	 Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>,
	Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@mellanox.com>
Subject: [dpdk-dev] Promiscuous Mode Feature
Date: Wed, 24 Jun 2020 12:18:45 -0400
Message-ID: <CAAuqQpQptwHz=QNiFV1MOdt4EiHJq91yNM0F6nDjADi-ox5BmQ@mail.gmail.com> (raw)

Hi all,

From my understanding, the promiscuous mode feature will verify the
functionality of promiscuous mode when it is on or off. The plan for
testing this feature is as follows:

Sending over a packet to verify the ports are working properly before any
testing. First to verify the promiscuous mode is enabled. With the
promiscuous being enabled, send over a packet and check if the packet will
be received when sending it to a different destination mac address than the
host/card. Then disable the promiscuous mode. The packet will only be
received if the mac address is the destination mac address. Otherwise, the
test case will be considered a failure.

Please let me know if there is anything I need to add on or if there are
certain cases I need to be aware of.

Thanks,
David Liu
UNH Interoperability Lab

             reply	other threads:[~2020-06-24 16:19 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-24 16:18 David Liu [this message]
2020-06-24 20:03 ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-06-25 14:05   ` Lincoln Lavoie
2020-06-25 20:23   ` Ajit Khaparde
2020-06-29 19:58     ` David Liu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAAuqQpQptwHz=QNiFV1MOdt4EiHJq91yNM0F6nDjADi-ox5BmQ@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=dliu@iol.unh.edu \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=ciara.power@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=dts@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=ivan.ilchenko@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=lylavoie@iol.unh.edu \
    --cc=orika@mellanox.com \
    --cc=rasland@mellanox.com \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git