DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jerin Jacob <jerinjacobk@gmail.com>
To: Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>, dpdk-dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	 David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	 Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	"Richardson, Bruce" <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	 Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	 Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>,
	 Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>,
	Kevin Traynor <ktraynor@redhat.com>,
	 Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] doc: announce removal of interactive setup script
Date: Tue, 4 Aug 2020 16:03:39 +0530
Message-ID: <CALBAE1Nm4-FFwqh=c8EMhqbT0nJ-kwq2pyb9Fd+_EUQVet5ktw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <cba24541-f696-1229-3db2-abd8c19fb9f1@redhat.com>

On Tue, Aug 4, 2020 at 4:00 PM Maxime Coquelin
<maxime.coquelin@redhat.com> wrote:
>
>
>
> On 8/4/20 12:26 PM, Thomas Monjalon wrote:
> > Environment configuration is the responsibility of distributions
> > or upper-level frameworks.
> > DPDK focus on documenting the requirements and some recommendations.
> >
> > Maintaining a good adaptative deployment setup is a project by itself.
> > Anyway this script was interactive, useful only for experimenters.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
> > ---
> >  doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst | 4 ++++
> >  1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)
> >
> > diff --git a/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst b/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
> > index ea4cfa7a48..7ce9fc3e4f 100644
> > --- a/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
> > +++ b/doc/guides/rel_notes/deprecation.rst
> > @@ -151,3 +151,7 @@ Deprecation Notices
> >    Python 2 support will be completely removed in 20.11.
> >    In 20.08, explicit deprecation warnings will be displayed when running
> >    scripts with Python 2.
> > +
> > +* dpdk-setup.sh: This old script relies on deprecated stuff, and especially
> > +  ``make``. Given environments are too much variables for such a simple script,
> > +  it will be removed in DPDK 20.11.
> >
>
> Acked-by: Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>

Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>



>
> Thanks,
> Maxime
>

  reply	other threads:[~2020-08-04 10:33 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-04 10:26 Thomas Monjalon
2020-08-04 10:30 ` Maxime Coquelin
2020-08-04 10:33   ` Jerin Jacob [this message]
2020-08-05 16:19 ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-05 16:26   ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-08-05 17:46     ` Trahe, Fiona
2020-08-05 18:26       ` Stephen Hemminger
2020-08-06  9:35         ` Bruce Richardson
2020-08-06 13:51           ` Kinsella, Ray
2020-08-06 14:43             ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-08-06 14:51 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2] " Thomas Monjalon
2020-08-06 16:23   ` Stephen Hemminger
2020-08-06 16:25     ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-08-06 16:56       ` Stephen Hemminger
2020-08-06 17:02         ` Thomas Monjalon

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CALBAE1Nm4-FFwqh=c8EMhqbT0nJ-kwq2pyb9Fd+_EUQVet5ktw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=jerinjacobk@gmail.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akhil.goyal@nxp.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=bluca@debian.org \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=ktraynor@redhat.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git