DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>
To: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>, <dev@dpdk.org>,
	John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>,
	Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com>,
	"Igor Russkikh" <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>,
	Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Chas Williams <chas3@att.com>,
	"Wei Hu (Xavier)" <xavier.huwei@huawei.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@nxp.com>,
	Wei Zhao <wei.zhao1@intel.com>, Jeff Guo <jia.guo@intel.com>,
	Marcin Wojtas <mw@semihalf.com>,
	Michal Krawczyk <mk@semihalf.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>,
	Evgeny Schemeilin <evgenys@amazon.com>,
	Igor Chauskin <igorch@amazon.com>,
	John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>,
	Hyong Youb Kim <hyonkim@cisco.com>, Gaetan Rivet <grive@u256.net>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Xiao Wang <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>,
	Ziyang Xuan <xuanziyang2@huawei.com>,
	Xiaoyun Wang <cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com>,
	Guoyang Zhou <zhouguoyang@huawei.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	Jingjing Wu <jingjing.wu@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	Long Li <longli@microsoft.com>,
	Heinrich Kuhn <heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com>,
	Harman Kalra <hkalra@marvell.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Nithin Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	"Kiran Kumar K" <kirankumark@marvell.com>,
	Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>,
	"Shahed Shaikh" <shshaikh@marvell.com>,
	Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>,
	"Maxime Coquelin" <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>,
	Chenbo Xia <chenbo.xia@intel.com>,
	Zhihong Wang <zhihong.wang@intel.com>,
	Yong Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>,
	Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	Ray Kinsella <mdr@ashroe.eu>,
	"Neil Horman" <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 7/7] ethdev: remove underscore prefix from internal API
Date: Sat, 29 Aug 2020 15:16:57 +0300
Message-ID: <abaa9e6a-3c8f-0638-ffcd-dd0165b2d0d9@solarflare.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200824094021.2323605-7-ferruh.yigit@intel.com>

On 8/24/20 12:40 PM, Ferruh Yigit wrote:
> '_rte_eth_dev_callback_process()' & '_rte_eth_dev_reset()' internal APIs
> has unconventional underscore ('_') prefix.
> Although this is not documented most probably this is to mark them as
> internal. Since we have '__rte_internal' flag to mark this, removing '_'
> from API names.
> 
> For '_rte_eth_dev_reset()', there is already a public API named
> 'rte_eth_dev_reset()', so renaming '_rte_eth_dev_reset()' to
> 'rte_eth_dev_internal_reset'.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>

Acked-by: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>

  reply	other threads:[~2020-08-29 12:17 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 60+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-24  9:40 [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 1/7] ethdev: remove legacy descriptor status check API Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-24  9:40 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 2/7] ethdev: move inline device operations Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-29 11:57   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-08-31 12:25     ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-24  9:40 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 3/7] ethdev: make device operations struct private Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-29 12:03   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-08-24  9:40 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 4/7] ethdev: mark internal functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-29 12:07   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-08-24  9:40 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 5/7] ethdev: use hairpin helper functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-29 12:13   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-08-24  9:40 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 6/7] ethdev: remove invalid symbols from map file Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-29 12:14   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2020-08-24  9:40 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 7/7] ethdev: remove underscore prefix from internal API Ferruh Yigit
2020-08-29 12:16   ` Andrew Rybchenko [this message]
2020-08-29 11:47 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 1/7] ethdev: remove legacy descriptor status check API Andrew Rybchenko
2020-09-03 21:09 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 " Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-03 21:09   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 2/7] ethdev: move inline device operations Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-03 21:09   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 3/7] ethdev: make device operations struct private Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-08 12:19     ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-03 21:09   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 4/7] ethdev: mark internal functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-03 21:09   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 5/7] ethdev: use hairpin helper functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-03 21:09   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 6/7] ethdev: remove invalid symbols from map file Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-03 21:09   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 7/7] ethdev: remove underscore prefix from internal API Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 1/7] ethdev: deprecate descriptor status check API Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 2/7] ethdev: move inline device operations Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 3/7] ethdev: make device operations struct private Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 12:57     ` Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 4/7] ethdev: mark internal functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 5/7] ethdev: use hairpin helper functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 6/7] ethdev: remove invalid symbols from map file Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 11:12   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 7/7] ethdev: remove underscore prefix from internal API Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 12:07   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v3 1/7] ethdev: deprecate descriptor status check API David Marchand
2020-09-09 13:01 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 " Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 13:01   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 2/7] ethdev: move inline device operations Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-10  1:56     ` Sachin Saxena (OSS)
2020-09-09 13:01   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 3/7] ethdev: make device operations struct private Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 13:01   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 4/7] ethdev: mark internal functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 13:01   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 5/7] ethdev: use hairpin helper functions Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 13:01   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 6/7] ethdev: remove invalid symbols from map file Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-09 13:01   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 7/7] ethdev: remove underscore prefix from internal API Ferruh Yigit
2020-09-10  2:04     ` Sachin Saxena (OSS)
2020-09-10 12:50   ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v4 1/7] ethdev: deprecate descriptor status check API Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58 ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 00/10] cppcheck Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 01/10] app/procinfo: fix redundant condition Ferruh Yigit
2021-01-08 10:36     ` David Marchand
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 02/10] app/procinfo: fix negative check on unsigned variable Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 03/10] app/procinfo: remove suspicious sizeof Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 04/10] app/procinfo: remove useless assignment Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 05/10] net/pcap: remove local variable shadowing outer one Ferruh Yigit
2021-01-08 10:31     ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " David Marchand
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 06/10] net/bonding: " Ferruh Yigit
2021-01-08 10:34     ` David Marchand
2021-01-11  1:03     ` Min Hu (Connor)
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 07/10] net/af_xdp: remove useless assignment Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 08/10] net/bnxt: fix redundant return Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-19 11:58   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 09/10] app/crypto-perf: remove always true condition Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-23 15:25     ` Zhang, Roy Fan
2020-11-19 11:59   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 10/10] net/avp: " Ferruh Yigit
2020-11-20 17:40     ` Steven Webster
2021-01-11  9:47   ` [dpdk-dev] [v21.02 v3 00/10] cppcheck David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=abaa9e6a-3c8f-0638-ffcd-dd0165b2d0d9@solarflare.com \
    --to=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=chas3@att.com \
    --cc=chenbo.xia@intel.com \
    --cc=cloud.wangxiaoyun@huawei.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=evgenys@amazon.com \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=grive@u256.net \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=heinrich.kuhn@netronome.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hkalra@marvell.com \
    --cc=hyonkim@cisco.com \
    --cc=igor.russkikh@aquantia.com \
    --cc=igorch@amazon.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jia.guo@intel.com \
    --cc=jingjing.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=john.mcnamara@intel.com \
    --cc=johndale@cisco.com \
    --cc=kirankumark@marvell.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=longli@microsoft.com \
    --cc=marko.kovacevic@intel.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=mczekaj@marvell.com \
    --cc=mdr@ashroe.eu \
    --cc=mk@semihalf.com \
    --cc=mw@semihalf.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=pavel.belous@aquantia.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@mellanox.com \
    --cc=shshaikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    --cc=wei.zhao1@intel.com \
    --cc=xavier.huwei@huawei.com \
    --cc=xiao.w.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=xuanziyang2@huawei.com \
    --cc=yongwang@vmware.com \
    --cc=zhihong.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=zhouguoyang@huawei.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git