DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Igor Russkikh <irusskikh@marvell.com>
To: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
Cc: dev <dev@dpdk.org>, Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>,
	Devendra Singh Rawat <dsinghrawat@marvell.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	"Bernard Iremonger" <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [EXT] Re: [PATCH] app/testpmd: tx pkt clones parameter in flowgen
Date: Tue, 19 Jan 2021 12:58:33 +0100
Message-ID: <fd29bab0-ed0c-6a21-2460-69836e490424@marvell.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJFAV8z1dhPk8B2oEREYSp8duwGLW3JyL-ZBdD4iEjOzfW1nGw@mail.gmail.com>

>> Doing similar measurements per core, I see one core can do
>> 6.9MPPS (without clones) vs 11MPPS (with clones)
>>
>> Verified on Marvell qede and atlantic PMDs.
> 
> Ubuntu 18.04 gcc complains:
> https://urldefense.proofpoint.com/v2/url?u=https-3A__github.com_ovsrobot_dpdk_runs_1713302522-3Fcheck-5Fsuite-5Ffocus-3Dtrue-23step-3A14-3A3097&d=DwIBaQ&c=nKjWec2b6R0mOyPaz7xtfQ&r=3kUjVPjrPMvlbd3rzgP63W0eewvCq4D-kzQRqaXHOqU&m=AkyYUO7yiMI9Y3lF78e0dzcp_f95VqFm9SsKGvGvZSs&s=KbY-M7bennVuSeEXqqVUG2JFCPAikRYxT5P1kY56QTM&e=
> 
> Can you have a look?

Hi David,

Thanks for the notice.

From logic this looks like a false positive.. The only way I found to eliminate the
warning is

--- a/app/test-pmd/flowgen.c
+++ b/app/test-pmd/flowgen.c
@@ -85,7 +85,7 @@ pkt_burst_flow_gen(struct fwd_stream *fs)
        unsigned pkt_size = tx_pkt_length - 4;  /* Adjust FCS */
        struct rte_mbuf  *pkts_burst[MAX_PKT_BURST];
        struct rte_mempool *mbp;
-       struct rte_mbuf  *pkt;
+       struct rte_mbuf  *pkt = NULL;

Its abit dumb, but still.

Will resubmit.

Thanks,
  Igor

      reply	other threads:[~2021-01-19 11:58 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 3+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-16  9:38 [dpdk-dev] " Igor Russkikh
2021-01-18  8:32 ` David Marchand
2021-01-19 11:58   ` Igor Russkikh [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=fd29bab0-ed0c-6a21-2460-69836e490424@marvell.com \
    --to=irusskikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=bernard.iremonger@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=dsinghrawat@marvell.com \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git