patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
To: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
Cc: dev <dev@dpdk.org>, dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@nvidia.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@nvidia.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>,
	 Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	 Raveendra Padasalagi <raveendra.padasalagi@broadcom.com>,
	Vikas Gupta <vikas.gupta@broadcom.com>,
	 Jeff Guo <jia.guo@intel.com>,
	Haiyue Wang <haiyue.wang@intel.com>,
	 Adam Dybkowski <adamx.dybkowski@intel.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	 Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>,
	Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@nxp.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-stable] [PATCH 2/3] drivers: fix log level after loading
Date: Tue, 23 Mar 2021 19:25:50 +0100
Message-ID: <CAJFAV8yKFvu2D1mTt-Zps+KmN_LF6UkN=AuX5wO_kLe6jxNtgg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210310140107.2730088-3-thomas@monjalon.net>

On Wed, Mar 10, 2021 at 3:01 PM Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> wrote:
>
> When compiled as a shared object, and loaded at runtime as a plugin,
> the drivers should get the log level set earlier at EAL init
> by the user through --log-level option.
>
> The function for applying the log level setting is
> rte_log_register_type_and_pick_level().
> It is called by most drivers via RTE_LOG_REGISTER().
>
> The drivers common/mlx5, bcmfs and e1000 were missing,
> so the user-specified log level was not applied when
> those drivers were loaded as plugins.
> The macro RTE_LOG_REGISTER() is used for those drivers.
>
> The unnecessary protection for double registration
> is removed from e1000.
>
> Fixes: 9c99878aa1b1 ("log: introduce logtype register macro")
> Fixes: c8e79da7c676 ("crypto/bcmfs: introduce BCMFS driver")
> Cc: stable@dpdk.org
>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>

Reviewed-by: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>


-- 
David Marchand


  reply	other threads:[~2021-03-23 18:26 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20210310140107.2730088-1-thomas@monjalon.net>
2021-03-10 14:01 ` Thomas Monjalon
2021-03-23 18:25   ` David Marchand [this message]
2021-03-23 18:50   ` Ajit Khaparde
     [not found] ` <20210405100301.657768-1-thomas@monjalon.net>
2021-04-05 10:03   ` [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v2 " Thomas Monjalon
     [not found] ` <20210406132204.1818522-1-thomas@monjalon.net>
2021-04-06 13:22   ` [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v3 " Thomas Monjalon

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAJFAV8yKFvu2D1mTt-Zps+KmN_LF6UkN=AuX5wO_kLe6jxNtgg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=adamx.dybkowski@intel.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akhil.goyal@nxp.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=haiyue.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jia.guo@intel.com \
    --cc=matan@nvidia.com \
    --cc=raveendra.padasalagi@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@nvidia.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=viacheslavo@nvidia.com \
    --cc=vikas.gupta@broadcom.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git