patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
To: Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>
Cc: dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	 Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>,
	ogerlitz@mellanox.com, Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>, nd <nd@arm.com>,
	 dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-stable] [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2 1/2] eal/arm: generic counter based loop for CPU freq calculation
Date: Tue, 7 Jul 2020 13:16:41 +0200
Message-ID: <CAJFAV8yTmGb_8UUEXz3d7zS066uJcuRx3tdix2r_1e+EVaizMg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200626203502.20658-1-honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>

On Fri, Jun 26, 2020 at 10:35 PM Honnappa Nagarahalli
<honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com> wrote:
>
> get_tsc_freq uses 'nanosleep' system call to calculate the CPU
> frequency. However, 'nanosleep' results in the process getting
> un-scheduled. The kernel saves and restores the PMU state. This
> ensures that the PMU cycles are not counted towards a sleeping
> process. When RTE_ARM_EAL_RDTSC_USE_PMU is defined, this results
> in incorrect CPU frequency calculation. This logic is replaced
> with generic counter based loop.
>
> Bugzilla ID: 450
> Fixes: f91bcbb2d9a6 ("eal/arm: use high-resolution cycle counter")
> Cc: stable@dpdk.org
>
> Signed-off-by: Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Ruifeng Wang <ruifeng.wang@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Dharmik Thakkar <dharmik.thakkar@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Phil Yang <phil.yang@arm.com>
> Acked-by: Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>

Series applied, thanks.


-- 
David Marchand


      reply	other threads:[~2020-07-07 11:16 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-08 21:34 [dpdk-stable] [PATCH] eal: " Honnappa Nagarahalli
2020-06-24 12:50 ` [dpdk-stable] [dpdk-dev] " Jerin Jacob
2020-06-26 20:46   ` Honnappa Nagarahalli
2020-06-24 15:09 ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2020-06-26 20:35 ` [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v2 1/2] eal/arm: " Honnappa Nagarahalli
2020-07-07 11:16   ` David Marchand [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAJFAV8yTmGb_8UUEXz3d7zS066uJcuRx3tdix2r_1e+EVaizMg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akhil.goyal@nxp.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=nd@arm.com \
    --cc=ogerlitz@mellanox.com \
    --cc=pbhagavatula@marvell.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git