patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ruifeng Wang <Ruifeng.Wang@arm.com>
To: "thomas@monjalon.net" <thomas@monjalon.net>
Cc: dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>,
	"Ajit Khaparde (ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com)"
	<ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	"Akhil.goyal@nxp.com" <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>,
	Alexander Kozyrev <akozyrev@mellanox.com>,
	Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	Ankur Dwivedi <adwivedi@marvell.com>,
	Apeksha Gupta <apeksha.gupta@nxp.com>,
	Archana Muniganti <marchana@marvell.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	Bernard Iremonger <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>,
	Brian Johnson <brian.johnson@intel.com>,
	Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	Chenbo Xia <chenbo.xia@intel.com>,
	Chengchang Tang <tangchengchang@huawei.com>,
	Chenxu Di <chenxux.di@intel.com>,
	Chunsong Feng <fengchunsong@huawei.com>,
	David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Dekel Peled <dekelp@mellanox.com>,
	Dharmik Thakkar <Dharmik.Thakkar@arm.com>,
	Didier Pallard <didier.pallard@6wind.com>,
	Erik Gabriel Carrillo <erik.g.carrillo@intel.com>,
	Fady Bader <fady@mellanox.com>,
	Fan Zhang <roy.fan.zhang@intel.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>,
	Gregory Etelson <getelson@mellanox.com>,
	Guinan Sun <guinanx.sun@intel.com>,
	Guy Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>, Hailin Xu <hailinx.xu@intel.com>,
	Harman Kalra <hkalra@marvell.com>,
	"hemant.agrawal@nxp.com" <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Honnappa Nagarahalli <Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com>,
	Huisong Li <lihuisong@huawei.com>,
	Igor Chauskin <igorch@amazon.com>,
	Igor Romanov <igor.romanov@oktetlabs.ru>,
	Jack Min <jackmin@mellanox.com>, Jeff Guo <jia.guo@intel.com>,
	Jesse Brandeburg <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>,
	Jiaqi Min <jiaqix.min@intel.com>,
	Jun W Zhou <junx.w.zhou@intel.com>,
	Kalesh AP <kalesh-anakkur.purayil@broadcom.com>,
	Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	Lance Richardson <lance.richardson@broadcom.com>,
	Lijian Zhang <Lijian.Zhang@arm.com>,
	Long Li <longli@microsoft.com>, Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>,
	Lunyuan Cui <lunyuanx.cui@intel.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>, Matan Azrad <matan@nvidia.com>,
	Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>,
	Michael Baum <michaelba@nvidia.com>,
	Michal Krawczyk <mk@semihalf.com>, Min Hu <humin29@huawei.com>,
	Min Wang <wangmin3@huawei.com>,
	Mohsin Shaikh <mohsinshaikh@niometrics.com>,
	Morten Brørup <mb@smartsharesystems.com>,
	Nan Chen <whutchennan@gmail.com>,
	Nikhil Rao <nikhil.rao@intel.com>,
	"Nipun.gupta@nxp.com" <nipun.gupta@nxp.com>,
	Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>,
	Ophir Munk <ophirmu@mellanox.com>, Ori Kam <orika@mellanox.com>,
	Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com>,
	Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>,
	Phil Yang <Phil.Yang@arm.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Qingmin Liu <qingmin.liu@broadcom.com>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Radu Bulie <radu-andrei.bulie@nxp.com>,
	Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>,
	Ralf Hoffmann <ralf.hoffmann@allegro-packets.com>,
	Randy Schacher <stuart.schacher@broadcom.com>,
	Remy Horton <remy.horton@intel.com>,
	Reshma Pattan <reshma.pattan@intel.com>,
	Shiri Kuzin <shirik@nvidia.com>,
	Shougang Wang <shougangx.wang@intel.com>,
	Shy Shyman <shys@mellanox.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>,
	Suanming Mou <suanmingm@mellanox.com>,
	Tao Zhu <taox.zhu@intel.com>, Tiwei Bie <tiwei.bie@intel.com>,
	Venkat Duvvuru <venkatkumar.duvvuru@broadcom.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>,
	Wei Huang <wei.huang@intel.com>, Wei Hu <xavier.huwei@huawei.com>,
	Wei Ling <weix.ling@intel.com>, Wei Zhao <wei.zhao1@intel.com>,
	Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>,
	Xueming Li <xuemingl@nvidia.com>,
	Yingya Han <yingyax.han@intel.com>,
	Yu Jiang <yux.jiang@intel.com>,
	Yunjian Wang <wangyunjian@huawei.com>, nd <nd@arm.com>,
	nd <nd@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-stable] please help backporting some patches to LTS release 18.11.11
Date: Wed, 25 Nov 2020 09:19:09 +0000
Message-ID: <VI1PR0802MB2351E6D6B92ECA34E88B63B89EFA0@VI1PR0802MB2351.eurprd08.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1974306.6i84qn4ntZ@thomas>

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
> Sent: Wednesday, November 25, 2020 4:24 PM
> To: Ruifeng Wang <Ruifeng.Wang@arm.com>
> Cc: dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>; Ajit Khaparde
> (ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com) <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>;
> Akhil.goyal@nxp.com; Alexander Kozyrev <akozyrev@mellanox.com>;
> Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>; Andrew Rybchenko
> <arybchenko@solarflare.com>; Ankur Dwivedi <adwivedi@marvell.com>;
> Apeksha Gupta <apeksha.gupta@nxp.com>; Archana Muniganti
> <marchana@marvell.com>; Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>; Bernard
> Iremonger <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>; Brian Johnson
> <brian.johnson@intel.com>; Bruce Richardson
> <bruce.richardson@intel.com>; Chenbo Xia <chenbo.xia@intel.com>;
> Chengchang Tang <tangchengchang@huawei.com>; Chenxu Di
> <chenxux.di@intel.com>; Chunsong Feng <fengchunsong@huawei.com>;
> David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>; Dekel Peled
> <dekelp@mellanox.com>; Dharmik Thakkar <Dharmik.Thakkar@arm.com>;
> Didier Pallard <didier.pallard@6wind.com>; Erik Gabriel Carrillo
> <erik.g.carrillo@intel.com>; Fady Bader <fady@mellanox.com>; Fan Zhang
> <roy.fan.zhang@intel.com>; Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>;
> Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>; Gregory Etelson
> <getelson@mellanox.com>; Guinan Sun <guinanx.sun@intel.com>; Guy
> Tzalik <gtzalik@amazon.com>; Hailin Xu <hailinx.xu@intel.com>; Harman
> Kalra <hkalra@marvell.com>; hemant.agrawal@nxp.com; Honnappa
> Nagarahalli <Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com>; Huisong Li
> <lihuisong@huawei.com>; Igor Chauskin <igorch@amazon.com>; Igor
> Romanov <igor.romanov@oktetlabs.ru>; Jack Min <jackmin@mellanox.com>;
> Jeff Guo <jia.guo@intel.com>; Jesse Brandeburg
> <jesse.brandeburg@intel.com>; Jiaqi Min <jiaqix.min@intel.com>; Jun W
> Zhou <junx.w.zhou@intel.com>; Kalesh AP <kalesh-
> anakkur.purayil@broadcom.com>; Konstantin Ananyev
> <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>; Lance Richardson
> <lance.richardson@broadcom.com>; Lijian Zhang <Lijian.Zhang@arm.com>;
> Long Li <longli@microsoft.com>; Luca Boccassi <bluca@debian.org>; Lunyuan
> Cui <lunyuanx.cui@intel.com>; Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>;
> Matan Azrad <matan@nvidia.com>; Maxime Coquelin
> <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>; Michael Baum <michaelba@nvidia.com>;
> Michal Krawczyk <mk@semihalf.com>; Min Hu <humin29@huawei.com>;
> Min Wang <wangmin3@huawei.com>; Mohsin Shaikh
> <mohsinshaikh@niometrics.com>; Morten Brørup
> <mb@smartsharesystems.com>; Nan Chen <whutchennan@gmail.com>;
> Nikhil Rao <nikhil.rao@intel.com>; Nipun.gupta@nxp.com; Olivier Matz
> <olivier.matz@6wind.com>; Ophir Munk <ophirmu@mellanox.com>; Ori
> Kam <orika@mellanox.com>; Pablo de Lara
> <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com>; Pavan Nikhilesh
> <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>; Phil Yang <Phil.Yang@arm.com>; Qiming Yang
> <qiming.yang@intel.com>; Qingmin Liu <qingmin.liu@broadcom.com>; Qi
> Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>; Radu Bulie <radu-andrei.bulie@nxp.com>;
> Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>; Ralf Hoffmann
> <ralf.hoffmann@allegro-packets.com>; Randy Schacher
> <stuart.schacher@broadcom.com>; Remy Horton <remy.horton@intel.com>;
> Reshma Pattan <reshma.pattan@intel.com>; Shiri Kuzin <shirik@nvidia.com>;
> Shougang Wang <shougangx.wang@intel.com>; Shy Shyman
> <shys@mellanox.com>; Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>;
> Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>; Suanming Mou
> <suanmingm@mellanox.com>; Tao Zhu <taox.zhu@intel.com>; Tiwei Bie
> <tiwei.bie@intel.com>; Venkat Duvvuru
> <venkatkumar.duvvuru@broadcom.com>; Viacheslav Ovsiienko
> <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>; Viacheslav Ovsiienko
> <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>; Wei Huang <wei.huang@intel.com>; Wei Hu
> <xavier.huwei@huawei.com>; Wei Ling <weix.ling@intel.com>; Wei Zhao
> <wei.zhao1@intel.com>; Xiaolong Ye <xiaolong.ye@intel.com>; Xueming Li
> <xuemingl@nvidia.com>; Yingya Han <yingyax.han@intel.com>; Yu Jiang
> <yux.jiang@intel.com>; Yunjian Wang <wangyunjian@huawei.com>; nd
> <nd@arm.com>
> Subject: Re: please help backporting some patches to LTS release 18.11.11
> 
> 25/11/2020 03:44, Ruifeng Wang:
> > Hi Kevin,
> >
> > 76a4ed5b3  Ruifeng Wang     crypto/armv8: fix mempool object returning
> > //This patch should be dropped from missed list and not backported. The
> issue it fixes doesn't exist in 18.11 branch.
> 
> Why it is marked as fixing a commit from 2017?

This was a mistake on fix tag. 
The patch changed two lines of code. Fix tag was generated for both of the lines which involves two commits.
However, issue was introduced by only the later patch.
> 
> > Reply for some patches from Phil Yang:
> >
> > 059a23108  Phil Yang        app/testpmd: enable burst stats for noisy VNF
> mode
> > 030c21641  Phil Yang        eventdev: relax SMP barriers with C11 atomics
> > e84d9c62c  Phil Yang        eventdev: remove redundant reset on timer
> cancel
> > 1028d63eb  Phil Yang        eventdev: use C11 atomics for lcore timer armed
> flag
> > //These patches should be dropped from missed list and not backported.
> They are optimization or not critical bug fix.
> 
> Why they are marked with Cc: stable?

Discussion in the thread:
http://patches.dpdk.org/patch/71351/
Because one of bug fix patch in the patch needed to be backported, and it was
hard to use rte_atomic* API to do the fix, so C11 atomic built-in was used. To keep code in stable
release clean, decision was made to backport all other patches in the patch set that involves
C11 atomic built-in.
> 
> 


  reply	other threads:[~2020-11-27  8:31 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-11-24 16:13 Kevin Traynor
2020-11-24 16:30 ` Gregory Etelson
2020-11-24 16:40   ` Kevin Traynor
2020-11-25  2:44 ` Ruifeng Wang
2020-11-25  8:23   ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-11-25  9:19     ` Ruifeng Wang [this message]
2020-11-27 10:33   ` Kevin Traynor
2020-11-27 15:10     ` Wang, Haiyue
2020-11-27 15:32       ` Kevin Traynor
2020-12-01  3:32 ` Kalesh Anakkur Purayil
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2020-11-27 20:16 Kevin Traynor
2020-12-01  1:53 ` oulijun
2020-12-02 10:47   ` Kevin Traynor
2020-10-06 12:18 Kevin Traynor
2020-10-06 12:27 ` Slava Ovsiienko
2020-10-06 12:30   ` Kevin Traynor
2020-10-26 12:23 ` Chauskin, Igor
2020-11-05  9:19   ` Kevin Traynor

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=VI1PR0802MB2351E6D6B92ECA34E88B63B89EFA0@VI1PR0802MB2351.eurprd08.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=ruifeng.wang@arm.com \
    --cc=Dharmik.Thakkar@arm.com \
    --cc=Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=Lijian.Zhang@arm.com \
    --cc=Phil.Yang@arm.com \
    --cc=adwivedi@marvell.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akhil.goyal@nxp.com \
    --cc=akozyrev@mellanox.com \
    --cc=anatoly.burakov@intel.com \
    --cc=apeksha.gupta@nxp.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=bernard.iremonger@intel.com \
    --cc=bluca@debian.org \
    --cc=brian.johnson@intel.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=chenbo.xia@intel.com \
    --cc=chenxux.di@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dekelp@mellanox.com \
    --cc=didier.pallard@6wind.com \
    --cc=erik.g.carrillo@intel.com \
    --cc=fady@mellanox.com \
    --cc=fengchunsong@huawei.com \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=g.singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=getelson@mellanox.com \
    --cc=gtzalik@amazon.com \
    --cc=guinanx.sun@intel.com \
    --cc=hailinx.xu@intel.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hkalra@marvell.com \
    --cc=humin29@huawei.com \
    --cc=igor.romanov@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=igorch@amazon.com \
    --cc=jackmin@mellanox.com \
    --cc=jesse.brandeburg@intel.com \
    --cc=jia.guo@intel.com \
    --cc=jiaqix.min@intel.com \
    --cc=junx.w.zhou@intel.com \
    --cc=kalesh-anakkur.purayil@broadcom.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=lance.richardson@broadcom.com \
    --cc=lihuisong@huawei.com \
    --cc=longli@microsoft.com \
    --cc=lunyuanx.cui@intel.com \
    --cc=marchana@marvell.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=matan@nvidia.com \
    --cc=maxime.coquelin@redhat.com \
    --cc=mb@smartsharesystems.com \
    --cc=michaelba@nvidia.com \
    --cc=mk@semihalf.com \
    --cc=mohsinshaikh@niometrics.com \
    --cc=nd@arm.com \
    --cc=nikhil.rao@intel.com \
    --cc=nipun.gupta@nxp.com \
    --cc=olivier.matz@6wind.com \
    --cc=ophirmu@mellanox.com \
    --cc=orika@mellanox.com \
    --cc=pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com \
    --cc=pbhagavatula@marvell.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=qingmin.liu@broadcom.com \
    --cc=radu-andrei.bulie@nxp.com \
    --cc=rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com \
    --cc=ralf.hoffmann@allegro-packets.com \
    --cc=remy.horton@intel.com \
    --cc=reshma.pattan@intel.com \
    --cc=roy.fan.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=shirik@nvidia.com \
    --cc=shougangx.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=shys@mellanox.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=stuart.schacher@broadcom.com \
    --cc=suanmingm@mellanox.com \
    --cc=tangchengchang@huawei.com \
    --cc=taox.zhu@intel.com \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=tiwei.bie@intel.com \
    --cc=venkatkumar.duvvuru@broadcom.com \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    --cc=viacheslavo@nvidia.com \
    --cc=wangmin3@huawei.com \
    --cc=wangyunjian@huawei.com \
    --cc=wei.huang@intel.com \
    --cc=wei.zhao1@intel.com \
    --cc=weix.ling@intel.com \
    --cc=whutchennan@gmail.com \
    --cc=xavier.huwei@huawei.com \
    --cc=xiaolong.ye@intel.com \
    --cc=xuemingl@nvidia.com \
    --cc=yingyax.han@intel.com \
    --cc=yux.jiang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git