DPDK announcements
 help / color / Atom feed
* [dpdk-announce] DPDK 18.08 released
@ 2018-08-09 23:57 Thomas Monjalon
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: Thomas Monjalon @ 2018-08-09 23:57 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: announce

A new major release is available:
	http://fast.dpdk.org/rel/dpdk-18.08.tar.xz

It is a short release after the huge 18.05:
	898 patches from 124 authors
	1020 files changed, 72041 insertions(+), 27305 deletions(-)

Highlights for 18.08:
	- big work on vhost/virtio (in-order, packed ring, etc)
	- rework of softnic driver to use Packet Framework
	- Microsoft netvsc driver
	- Mellanox port representors
	- more rte_flow offloads with Chelsio and Mellanox
	- compress drivers (Intel QAT, Cavium OcteonTX and zlib)
	- improved power management example

More details in the release notes:
	http://doc.dpdk.org/guides/rel_notes/release_18_08.html

There are 40 new contributors (including authors, reviewers and testers).
Thanks to Agalya Babu RadhaKrishnan, Alex Kiselev, Ankur Dwivedi,
Arnon Warshavsky, Brendan Ryan, Chaitanya Babu Talluri, Changqing Wu,
Daria Kolistratova, Dmitry Eremin-Solenikov, Dmitry Vyukov,
Drocula Lambda, Emma Kenny, Haiyang Zhang, Haiyue Wang, Hari Kumar,
Herry Chen, Ido Goshen, Igor Romanov, Jason He, Kiran Kumar,
Krzysztof Kanas, Lijuan Tu, Meijuan Zhao, Naga Suresh Somarowthu,
Narender Vangati, Nithin Dabilpuram, Ola Liljedahl, Pallantla Poornima,
Peng He, Petr Houska, Rakesh Kudurumalla, Richard Walsh, Rob Miller,
Steve Capper, Takeshi Yoshimura, Umesh Kartha, Yaroslav Brustinov,
Yinan Wang, Yingya Han, Yuwei Zhang.

Below is the number of patches per company (with authors count):
    441   Intel (53)
     78   6WIND (5)
     68   Cavium (14)
     59   Mellanox (8)
     35   RedHat (5)
     33   Semihalf (3)
     31   NXP (6)
     28   Broadcom (6)
     26   Chelsio (2)
     22   Microsoft (2)
     21   Cisco (4)
     16   Solarflare (1)
     13   ARM (3)

Based on Reviewed-by and Acked-by tags, the top reviewers are:

     46   Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>
     41   Pablo de Lara <pablo.de.lara.guarch@intel.com>
     39   Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>
     28   Tiwei Bie <tiwei.bie@intel.com>
     27   Jerin Jacob <jerin.jacob@caviumnetworks.com>
     21   Akhil Goyal <akhil.goyal@nxp.com>
     20   Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
     20   Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>
     19   Shreyansh Jain <shreyansh.jain@nxp.com>
     18   Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>
     18   Anatoly Burakov <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
     17   Maxime Coquelin <maxime.coquelin@redhat.com>

The new features for 18.11 must be submitted before the event in Dublin,
in order to be reviewed and integrated during September.
The next version is a major target because it will be LTS,
i.e. recommended for system integration.
DPDK 18.11 is expected to be released at the beginning of November.

Thanks everyone

^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, back to index

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2018-08-09 23:57 [dpdk-announce] DPDK 18.08 released Thomas Monjalon

DPDK announcements

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/announce/0 announce/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 announce announce/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/announce \
		announce@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index announce


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.announce


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox