patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / Atom feed
From: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
To: Honnappa Nagarahalli <Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com>
Cc: "dev@dpdk.org" <dev@dpdk.org>,
	"thomas@monjalon.net" <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	"techboard@dpdk.org" <techboard@dpdk.org>,
	"stable@dpdk.org" <stable@dpdk.org>,
	Nicolas Chautru <nicolas.chautru@intel.com>,
	 Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	Fiona Trahe <fiona.trahe@intel.com>,
	 Ashish Gupta <ashish.gupta@marvell.com>,
	 Vladimir Medvedkin <vladimir.medvedkin@intel.com>,
	 Bernard Iremonger <bernard.iremonger@intel.com>,
	Gage Eads <gage.eads@intel.com>,
	 Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>,
	Kevin Laatz <kevin.laatz@intel.com>, nd <nd@arm.com>,
	 Ray Kinsella <mdr@ashroe.eu>,
	Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-stable] [PATCH 3/3] lib: remind experimental status in library headers
Date: Thu, 28 May 2020 08:53:46 +0200
Message-ID: <CAJFAV8y2QswXtKRQhhe2O41KeLyuqVQDmWBphd5L2qfF+5Ny=g@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <DBBPR08MB46462A19F0D9388542498D5998B40@DBBPR08MB4646.eurprd08.prod.outlook.com>

Hello Honnappa,

On Fri, May 22, 2020 at 4:16 PM Honnappa Nagarahalli
<Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com> wrote:
> > @@ -11,7 +11,8 @@
> >   * Wireless base band device abstraction APIs.
> >   *
> >   * @warning
> > - * @b EXPERIMENTAL: this API may change without prior notice
> > + * @b EXPERIMENTAL:
> > + * All functions in this file may change or disappear without prior notice.
> nit, is 'removed' a better choice instead of 'disappear'? May be something like:
> All functions in this file may be changed or removed without prior notice.

I used the same form than in the abi policy (that I wanted but forgot
to update in patch 1 afterwards... will be fixed in v2).

#. Libraries or APIs marked as :ref:`experimental <experimental_apis>` may
   change without constraint, as they are not considered part of an ABI version.
   Experimental libraries have the major ABI version ``0``.

No strong opinion, but I prefer keeping a single phrasing.
If we go with your suggestion, I will update the abi policy.


-- 
David Marchand


  reply index

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20200522065855.31056-1-david.marchand@redhat.com>
2020-05-22  6:58 ` David Marchand
2020-05-22 14:15   ` Honnappa Nagarahalli
2020-05-28  6:53     ` David Marchand [this message]
2020-05-28 18:40       ` Honnappa Nagarahalli
2020-05-26 13:28   ` Eads, Gage
2020-05-28  6:56     ` David Marchand
     [not found] ` <20200625072112.22351-1-david.marchand@redhat.com>
2020-06-25  7:21   ` [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v2 " David Marchand
     [not found] ` <20200626081638.29890-1-david.marchand@redhat.com>
2020-06-26  8:16   ` [dpdk-stable] [PATCH v3 " David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAJFAV8y2QswXtKRQhhe2O41KeLyuqVQDmWBphd5L2qfF+5Ny=g@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=Honnappa.Nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=ashish.gupta@marvell.com \
    --cc=bernard.iremonger@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=fiona.trahe@intel.com \
    --cc=gage.eads@intel.com \
    --cc=kevin.laatz@intel.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=mdr@ashroe.eu \
    --cc=nd@arm.com \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=nicolas.chautru@intel.com \
    --cc=olivier.matz@6wind.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=techboard@dpdk.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=vladimir.medvedkin@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox