DPDK patches and discussions
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>
To: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
Cc: David Liu <dliu@iol.unh.edu>, dpdk-dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	dts@dpdk.org,  Lincoln Lavoie <lylavoie@iol.unh.edu>,
	David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	 Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	 Ori Kam <orika@mellanox.com>,
	Ciara Power <ciara.power@intel.com>,
	 Ivan Ilchenko <ivan.ilchenko@oktetlabs.ru>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	 Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>,
	Raslan Darawsheh <rasland@mellanox.com>,
	j.hendergart@f5.com,  grive@u256.net
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] Promiscuous Mode Feature
Date: Thu, 25 Jun 2020 13:23:00 -0700
Message-ID: <CACZ4nhvqcFcJCU6urSajRVddi-kg8UXMny7EoSZbBEeouWWyxw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <4869615.bvJKNRufO7@thomas>

On Wed, Jun 24, 2020 at 1:03 PM Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net> wrote:

> Hi,
>
> A bit of context: David is going to implement a test in DTS
> for promiscuous mode:
> http://doc.dpdk.org/guides/nics/features.html#promiscuous-mode
>
> 24/06/2020 18:18, David Liu:
> > Hi all,
> >
> > From my understanding, the promiscuous mode feature will verify the
> > functionality of promiscuous mode when it is on or off.
>
> You need to check in which condition the promiscuous mode can be enabled.
> Some contexts may forbid this mode. untrusted VF? flow isolation mode?
>
But there is no way other than some logs to indicate these.
Maybe we should add some state in port info to indicate this?


>
> > The plan for testing this feature is as follows:
> >
> > Sending over a packet to verify the ports are working properly before any
> > testing. First to verify the promiscuous mode is enabled. With the
> > promiscuous being enabled, send over a packet and check if the packet
> will
> > be received when sending it to a different destination mac address than
> the
> > host/card. Then disable the promiscuous mode. The packet will only be
> > received if the mac address is the destination mac address. Otherwise,
> the
> > test case will be considered a failure.
>
> I assume you will test positive and negative in both on/off cases.
>
> > Please let me know if there is anything I need to add on or if there are
> > certain cases I need to be aware of.
>
> Anyone else has ideas about what to test and corner cases?
>
> >
> > Thanks,
> > David Liu
> > UNH Interoperability Lab
>
>
>

  parent reply	other threads:[~2020-06-25 20:23 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-06-24 16:18 David Liu
2020-06-24 20:03 ` Thomas Monjalon
2020-06-25 14:05   ` Lincoln Lavoie
2020-06-25 20:23   ` Ajit Khaparde [this message]
2020-06-29 19:58     ` David Liu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACZ4nhvqcFcJCU6urSajRVddi-kg8UXMny7EoSZbBEeouWWyxw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=ciara.power@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=dliu@iol.unh.edu \
    --cc=dts@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=grive@u256.net \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=ivan.ilchenko@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=j.hendergart@f5.com \
    --cc=lylavoie@iol.unh.edu \
    --cc=orika@mellanox.com \
    --cc=rasland@mellanox.com \
    --cc=stephen@networkplumber.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK patches and discussions

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev/0 dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dev dev/ https://inbox.dpdk.org/dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dev

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git