patches for DPDK stable branches
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Niklas Söderlund <niklas.soderlund@corigine.com>
To: dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>, Kevin Traynor <ktraynor@redhat.com>
Cc: Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru>,
	Chaoyong He <chaoyong.he@corigine.com>,
	Chengwen Feng <fengchengwen@huawei.com>,
	Dariusz Sosnowski <dsosnowski@nvidia.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>,
	Jerin Jacob <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Jiawen Wu <jiawenwu@trustnetic.com>,
	Kalesh AP <kalesh-anakkur.purayil@broadcom.com>,
	Louis Peens <louis.peens@corigine.com>,
	Morten Brørup <mb@smartsharesystems.com>,
	Nithin Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>,
	Peng Zhang <peng.zhang@corigine.com>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@nvidia.com>,
	Walter Heymans <walter.heymans@corigine.com>,
	Yiding Zhou <yidingx.zhou@intel.com>
Subject: Re: please help backporting some patches to stable release 21.11.2
Date: Wed, 22 Jun 2022 12:48:21 +0200
Message-ID: <YrLzdTzN1LI6twX7@oden.dyn.berto.se> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20220621100223.1148243-1-ktraynor@redhat.com>

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for your backporting efforts.

On 2022-06-21 11:02:23 +0100, Kevin Traynor wrote:
> 417be15e5f  Peng Zhang       net/nfp: make sure MTU is never larger than mbuf size

This patch was submitted [1] with a 'Depends-on' on tag, on patch [2] 
that is now upstream as,

    commit 733afb244d304839 ("net/nfp: update how max MTU is read")

We have verified that the commits cherry-picked in order to the backport 
branch applies as-is. Unfortunately we have a fix in dpdk-next-net for 
the fix (with a Fixes tag) that needs to be considered.

    commit f1619c874873a21d ("net/nfp: fix configure by providing initial flbufsz")

In summary for this backport the following upstream commits needs to be 
backported (all or none), in order:

    commit 733afb244d304839 ("net/nfp: update how max MTU is read")
    commit 417be15e5f1117c3 ("net/nfp: make sure MTU is never larger than mbuf size")
    from dpdk-next-net:
    commit f1619c874873a21d ("net/nfp: fix configure by providing initial flbufsz")

My question is how would you prefer I handle this? Shall I create a 
backport patch with all of them squashed, create a backport series with 
the patches and send it out, or would you prefer to cherry-pick the 
commits yourself, or something else?

I'm sorry for this messy backport.

1. https://patchwork.dpdk.org/project/dpdk/patch/20220511011553.2905582-1-peng.zhang@corigine.com/
2. https://patchwork.dpdk.org/project/dpdk/patch/20220420134638.24010-1-walter.heymans@corigine.com/

-- 
Kind Regards,
Niklas Söderlund

  parent reply	other threads:[~2022-06-22 10:48 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 22+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-06-21 10:02 Kevin Traynor
2022-06-22  2:57 ` Jiawen Wu
2022-06-22  4:26 ` Gagandeep Singh
2022-06-23 14:08   ` Kevin Traynor
2022-06-22  4:47 ` Zhou, YidingX
2022-06-22  8:40   ` Kalesh Anakkur Purayil
2022-06-22 10:48 ` Niklas Söderlund [this message]
2022-06-24 14:17   ` Kevin Traynor
     [not found] ` <62b2851c.1c69fb81.cf480.7398SMTPIN_ADDED_BROKEN@mx.google.com>
2022-06-23 14:05   ` Kevin Traynor
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2022-06-24 16:31 Kevin Traynor
2022-06-27  9:15 ` Stanisław Kardach
2022-06-28 14:14   ` Kevin Traynor
2022-06-27 13:39 ` Rahul Lakkireddy
2022-06-28 14:18   ` Kevin Traynor
2022-06-27 21:15 ` McDaniel, Timothy
2022-06-28 14:13   ` Kevin Traynor
2022-06-28 14:20 ` Kevin Traynor
2022-06-29 10:24 ` Niklas Söderlund
2022-07-01 16:06   ` Kevin Traynor
2022-07-06 20:40 ` luca.boccassi
2022-08-01 13:31 ` McDaniel, Timothy
2022-05-10 13:00 Kevin Traynor

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YrLzdTzN1LI6twX7@oden.dyn.berto.se \
    --to=niklas.soderlund@corigine.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=andrew.rybchenko@oktetlabs.ru \
    --cc=chaoyong.he@corigine.com \
    --cc=dsosnowski@nvidia.com \
    --cc=fengchengwen@huawei.com \
    --cc=g.singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jiawenwu@trustnetic.com \
    --cc=kalesh-anakkur.purayil@broadcom.com \
    --cc=ktraynor@redhat.com \
    --cc=louis.peens@corigine.com \
    --cc=mb@smartsharesystems.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=pbhagavatula@marvell.com \
    --cc=peng.zhang@corigine.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=viacheslavo@nvidia.com \
    --cc=walter.heymans@corigine.com \
    --cc=yidingx.zhou@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

patches for DPDK stable branches

This inbox may be cloned and mirrored by anyone:

	git clone --mirror http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable/0 stable/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 stable stable/ http://inbox.dpdk.org/stable \
		stable@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index stable

Example config snippet for mirrors.
Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://inbox.dpdk.org/inbox.dpdk.stable


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git